McLaren Driver Nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2009

OK, so that headline may be a little mis-leading, as it’s actually 2010 McLaren driver Jenson Button who has been honoured with a nomination for Sports Personality of the Year 2009. This is the third year in a row a British Driver has been nominated and in 2007 and 2008 it was an actual McLaren driver, Lewis Hamilton. Both times he came 2nd, losing out to Joe Calzaghe in 2007 and Chris Hoy in 2008.

This year Jenson Button is up against the following nine fellow nominees:

David Haye – World Heavyweight Boxing Champion
Mark Cavendish – won an unprecedented 6 stages at this year’s Tour de France (Cycling)
Phillips Idowu – Triple Jump Gold Medallist at the World Athletics Championships
Tom Daley – 15 Year Old World Champion Diver
Andy Murray – A successful British tennis player, a very rare bread!
Jessica Ennis – Heptathlon Gold Medallist at the World Athletics Championships
Andrew Strauss – Captain of the English Ashes winning team
Ryan Giggs – to quote the BBC website: the most decorated player in English football history
Beth Tweddle – Floor Gold Medallist at the Gymnastics World Championships

Jenson is up against some stiff competition, and the last time an Ashes winning player was nominated (Andrew Flintoff in 2005) they won. Voting details can be found here. I’ll be voting for Jenson, and if he wins it’ll be the first Formula 1 driver to win since Damon Hill in 1996.


Leave a comment

Filed under Constructors, Drivers, Jenson Button, McLaren

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s